top of page

Guest Post by Juliette: Ten Must-See Drama and Romance Movies

Updated: Jun 25, 2023

Today Juliette from For the Sake of Good Taste joins my blog as the third guest blogger on my website! She's talking about her ten must-see drama and romance movies as part of my 100 Bucket List Films series. I am ashamed to say that I have only seen one of the films on this list! Clearly I need to catch up with drama and romance films. Let's see if you readers have watched more of these films than I have!

****

When I'm not blogging over at For the Sake of Good Taste, I'm known for over-organising my personal library, DVDs included... I may or may not have a card catalogue with entries for each and every one. But even more than I love categorising them, I love watching movies and some of my all-time favourites are in the drama and romance categories. So, when Scarlett brought up the idea of a few of us sharing some of our favourite films along the lines of her recent movie bucket list posts, I was super excited to share ten of my must-see drama and romance movies to add to your own personal movie bucket list!


These are presented in no particular order---picking ten films was difficult enough, much less ranking them, too! A few overlap with some other genres, like comedy, too. No matter what, I think you'll enjoy them! I've included a favourite quote from each film as well, just in case you need a little extra convincing.


1. Breakfast at Tiffany's (1961)

Starring the incomparable Audrey Hepburn and the gorgeous George Peppard, Breakfast at Tiffany's is both a classic and a personal favourite. The book on which it's based, Truman Capote's novel of the same title, is actually my favourite book, too!


"The mean reds are horrible. Suddenly you're afraid and you don't know what you're afraid of. . . . Well, when I get it the only thing that does any good is to jump in a cab and go to Tiffany's."


2. Father of the Bride (1991)

It's very unusual that I recommend a remake over the original, but this movie starring Steve Martin, Diane Keaton, Martin Short, Kimberly Williams-Paisley (and so many other amazing actors) is another favourite.


I'd be remiss to not share one more favourite alongside this movie: its sequel! Father of the Bride: Part II follows George through yet another crisis as he comes to terms with becoming a grandfather... and becoming a father once again.


"This was the moment I'd been dreading for the past six months. Well, actually for the past 22 years."


3. Once (2007)

I'm surprised to say that this is the only full-fledged musical on my list! Once won best musical as one of eight Tony's in its Broadway adaptation, but the movie, starring the real-life inspiration, The Swell Season's Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, is absolutely stunning. From the soundtrack to the Dublin setting, you won't be disappointed!


"You have suffered enough and warred with yourself, it's time that you won."


4. Say Anything (1989)

If you've never seen Say Anything, you probably know its famous "In Your Eyes" (thank you, Peter Gabriel) scene with John Cusack and a jukebox waiting outside Ione Skye's window.

"I have this theory of convergence, that good things always happen with bad things. I know you have to deal with them at the same time, but I just don't know why they happen at the same time. I just wish I could work out some schedule."


5. Tuck Everlasting (2002)

I read Natalie Babbit's novel of the same name in elementary school and was immediately hooked. When I eventually watched the movie, I was just as in love with Jesse as when I first read the book.


"For some time passes slowly, an hour can seem an eternity. For others, there's never enough. For Jesse Tuck, it didn't exist."


6. Dirty Dancing (1987)

Despite several years of lessons, my dance skills are about those that Baby (Jennifer Grey) has early on in Dirty Dancing. Of course, I fully attribute this to my lack of of Johnny Castle (Patrick Swayze) in my life.


"Me? I'm scared of everything. I'm scared of what I saw, I'm scared of what I did, about who I am and most of all I'm scared of walking out of this and never feeling the rest of my life the way I feel when I'm with you."


7. Click (2006)

This movie launched my love of The Cranberries with "Linger" and while I'm not the biggest fan of Adam Sandler, it's led me to a decent portion of his work that I've enjoyed (especially his music---I appreciate that someone has made a Thanksgiving song, however comedic)!


"Will you still love me in the morning?"

"Forever and ever, babe."


8. When Harry Met Sally (1989)

Can men and women be friends without the flicker of sexual attraction or romance? It's a timeless question that Harry and Sally (Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan) tackle in When Harry Met Sally. Throw in Carrie Fisher (rest in peace, General Princess Leia) and you have a recipe for success.

"A woman friend. This is amazing. You may be the first attractive woman I have not wanted to sleep with in my entire life."


9. Legally Blonde (2001)

I've always been remarkably similar to end-of-the-movie Elle Woods (Reese Witherspoon), so much so that I seriously considered going to law school (tiny dog in tow). What, like it's hard?


"Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don't shoot their husbands, they just don't."


10. Midnight in Paris (2011)

Despite studying English and adoring the Fitzgeralds (my cat is named in part after Scott, as well as Paul Varjak from Breakfast at Tiffany's!). Thankfully my best friend has an excellent taste in films himself and had me watch Midnight in Paris a few months ago. I expected to like it, but wasn't prepared to like it as much as I did! And I'm happy to say I followed most of the references!


"I believe that love that is true and real, creates a respite from death. All cowardice comes from not loving or not loving well, which is the same thing."


Thanks so much to Scarlett for letting me share my top ten favourite must-see drama and romance movies here on Scarlett's Scribbles!

If you'd like to hear more from me, feel free to check out the blog and our social media channels!

****

Thanks to you too, Juliette, for providing us with such a great post! I really have to check out more of these films.

If you want to check out more of Juliette's posts, you can find her blog at For the Sake of Good Taste. If you want to keep up to date with Juliette and her blog, follow her on social media:


What did you think about this list? Do you agree with it? Are they must-see films? How many of them have you seen and how many of them will you be adding to your bucket list of films? Let me know in the comments!


Scribble to you soon, Scarlett

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Blog: One Year Review

It's crazy to say this but it's been a year (and a bit) since I began this blog! Time goes by so quickly, and sadly I haven't been as committed to this as much as I wanted to be, but hopefully adult l

bottom of page