top of page

Why I've Been Away

Updated: Jun 25, 2023

You may have noticed that I have not posted anything on this blog since my post on 5th October 2018. A lot has happened since then and I thought it is only right as a blogger to share my reasoning for that with you.


On the 13th October 2018 my home was flooded as a result of Storm Callum. It wasn't just my home either, around 200 properties in my area were flooded. As you can imagine, this has created all sorts of chaos at home and has been the major block on writing blog posts. There was a long list of other priorities that came before my blog sadly - some of which I still haven't sorted. My family and I are not back in our regular home, however thanks to hard work and offers of help from friends and family, we're almost there. The rental property we are currently living in does allow me to post blogs as I am comfortably settled in so hopefully posts can now become more regular!


Despite the flood, this still leaves a 3 month gap whereby I haven't posted. This is because in November 2018 I left the UK to travel California for a whole month! It was an absolutely amazing experience which I still cannot believe happened. I went from L.A to San Diego to Big Bear Lakes to Yosemite to San Fransico and then back to L.A. I'm obviously going to do another post with even more details about it all, maybe rate my favourite and least favourite places. I might even do a travel-guide style post for anyone who is travelling to California.


Then came December, and as with December came Christmas. My Christmas celebrations were very different this past year as my family and I weren't living in our usual home. On Christmas Day, rather than staying at home and having our own dinner, it was my sister's idea that we volunteered in order to help the homeless and lonely. We went to a local church hall that was hosting a free Christmas meal to anyone who needed it and helped in any way we could. This included serving the guests, cooking the meals, cleaning up, and my favourite part - acting as Santa's elves. Whilst it was a different Christmas, it helped us appreciate how lucky we are, despite not being at our usual home, and allowed us to give back to our community in true Christmas spirit.


January was a growing period for myself - I turned 22! It was a month of job hunting and interviews where I focused my energy in finding a new career for myself - one of my new year's resolutions. After attending interviews I was met with the lucky situation of choosing between two job offers and I am now very pleased to say that I started a new job today! It's a Bid Writing position which will allow me to use all my creative energy to contribute to a bigger company. I am very excited and hope it all goes well. However, it is a full-time 9-to-5 kind of job and so may take up blogging time but I hope this is not the case! I tend to write blog posts in the evenings anyway so I should be able to slot them in.


That's pretty much it! A lot has gone on in my life in a matter of months but it is all looking towards the bright side now. Hopefully I'll now be able to post on a weekly basis to keep you engaged with more content!


On that note, what would you like to see more of? Would you like a post that goes into more detail about what happens after a home is flooded? What kind of things would you like to know about my California trip? Let me know in the comments!


Scribble to you soon, Scarlett x

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Blog: One Year Review

It's crazy to say this but it's been a year (and a bit) since I began this blog! Time goes by so quickly, and sadly I haven't been as committed to this as much as I wanted to be, but hopefully adult l

bottom of page